Each year M.A.P.T presents a number of awards during its annual conference and trade show, including School Bus Driver (or Driver/Special Needs Attendant Team) of the Year; Administrator of the Year; and one or more Distinguished Service awards. At the July 2015 50th Anniversary Conference and Trade Show, the following awards were presented.  (For additional awards, visit the ROAD STORIES page of this web site.)


Driver of the Year:  Lori Lea DePauw, Mexico Public Schools

                             Driver of the Year Lori Lea DePauw with Director-at-Large Dennis Robertson

On the afternoon of Tuesday, November 12, 2014, "Lori demonstrated exceptional skill and judgment that prevented a serious injury or what could have been a loss of life.  Lori took the extra time and secured her bus, after not seeing where a child went, to exit the bus...only to find that the student sat down behind the bus, next to the tires.  This demonstrates her knowledge and degree of dedication for the safety of her riders."        Curtis Jackson, Director of Transportation, Mexico Public Schools

Administrator of the Year:  Curtis Jackson, Transportation
                                                   Director, Mexico Public Schools

                Administrator of the Year Curtis Jackson, pictured with the 2014 winner, Michael Sharp

"...Curtis Jackson's door is always open from approximately 5:00 am to 5:00 pm for anything that is of concern to a driver, whether it is student discipline, bus repairs, safety of students, or driver suggestions for achieving more efficient and safe bus routes.  ...his everyday commitment to the safety and efficiency of the transportation department as well as his leadership, open attitude and giving the drivers a voice qualifies him for this award."   Mexico Public Schools' Bus Drivers in their nomination of Mr. Jackson for the award.


Distinguished Service Award:  Linda Thompson, Retired Director of
                                       Transportation, Lee's Summit School District

          Distinguished Service recipient Linda Thompson with former M.A.P.T. President Jack Woolf


Continuing Education Grants

M.A.P.T. recognizes the need to bring new ideas and fresh faces into the ranks of the people who so safely and efficiently transport Missouri's students.  Each year, M.A.P.T. selects one or more individuals who have been identified by their supervisors and recommended as having the potential to assume a larger role in the future of pupil transportation in our state.  These individuals are awarded a "scholarship" to attend our Annual Conference and Trade Show to network and to learn more about our industry.  The 2015 Continuing Education Grant winners are:

Jeannie Grauel, Transportation Secretary, Macon County R-1 School District

Lori Harber, Driver Trainer, Orchard Farm R-V School District

Kenneth Haynes, Driver Trainer, Joplin Public Schools



The theme for the 2015 Safety Poster Contest is Bully Free Zone

For complete rules for the poster contest, including who is  eligible to enter, and an official entry form, click on the Rule Book below.

M.A.P.T.  would like to thank the teachers who allow and encourage their students to participate.  We sincerely appreciate that, in addition to working on their art skills, you help these students gain a greater understanding of school bus safety.

At the 2015 M.A.P.T. Conference and Trade Show, safety posters depicting the theme  “BULLY FREE ZONE!” submitted by students from Liberty School District and Gateway / Hubert Wheeler School for the Severely Disabled were judged. Winning entries were chosen in Division #1 (Grades K - 2) and Division #2 (Grades 3 - 5).

The number of posters submitted decreased from over 320 last year to just 43 this year.  The posters were put on display for all M.A.P.T. conference attendees to view on Wednesday morning and judged that afternoon.

The winning posters will be forwarded to NAPT where they will be judged along with posters from all over the country.  NAPT will select the national winning poster to be used during the 2015-2016 National School Bus Safety Week.  In addition, the winning young artists will receive VISA gift cards from M.A.P.T.

            M.A.P.T. congratulates the winning artists and thanks all of the students who submitted posters in this year’s Safety Poster Contest.


                                       DIVISION 1







                                                                DIVISION 2

















happy people